The Thing In My Pipes – Storyboards

So now I’ve written the story, I’m going to make an animation out of it.  I love making pixel art, so I’ve had the idea to make the animation with pixel art.  I found a bunch of pixel art animation short films.  Here’s one of them.

I think pixel art animations add a real special touch to stories.  I also found this video which explains how to make pixel art rotoscope animations, which I haven’t thought of before.

 

So the first task is to start visualising the story into storyboards.

Before I started I drew a basic idea for the layout of the bathroom, but as I went through the storyboarding process, I changed the placement of the mirror and sink.

Scan - 2020-04-30 00_39_35

So storyboarding took me a couple of days, and I drew a total of 93 shots on 16 A4 pages of storyboards.  Phew.

Scanned Document-01

Scanned Document-02Scanned Document-03

Scanned Document-04Scanned Document-05Scanned Document-06Scanned Document-07Scanned Document-08Scanned Document-09Scanned Document-10Scanned Document-11Scanned Document-12Scanned Document-13Scanned Document-14Scanned Document-15Scanned Document-16

The next step is to make an animatic to see how the shots fit together in a cinematic narrative, and will also allow me to more easily cut bits out to lower the shot count, which will, in turn, give me fewer drawings and animations to make and so the project will take me less time to complete because 93 shots is a lot of work.

Go read my next blog post for some animatic development and babbling.

Leave a comment